How can I cope with the grief after a loved one’s death?

How can I cope with the grief after a loved one’s death?


When you lose your loved one unexpectedly, you will feel grief. Understanding the grieving process and knowing how to cope with the emotions that you feel can often help you to move on with life after the tragic loss.

What happens during the grieving process?

There isn’t any one-size-fits-all answer to what will happen during the grieving process. Everyone grieves in his or her own way. You might feel anger, sorrow, pain and a host of other emotions during the grieving process. Learning how to move forward through the grief process also varies. You can’t rush through this process because it happens gradually. Trying to rush through the process can make things worse.

What are the stages of grief?

There are five stages of grief — denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. You might go through these five stages quickly or you might have to deal with one single stage for longer than the others.

What are some healthy ways to cope with grief?

Allowing yourself to accept the emotions that you feel is one of the healthiest ways to cope with grief. If you try to suppress feelings, you will likely prolong the healing process. You should expect to cry and feel sad as you move through the grief process after your loved one’s death. In some cases, you might need to seek counseling to help you learn how to cope with the grief you feel.

Seeking Compensation After A Loved One’s Death

You might decide that you want to seek compensation for your loved one’s death. There is a chance that taking action like this could help you to move through the grief process.

Source:, “Coping with Grief and Loss,” accessed July 08, 2016

2017-03-25T22:03:22-05:00August 23rd, 2016|Wrongful Death|